No edit permissions for English

Text 52

nirveda-harṣādi — tetriśa ‘vyabhicārī’
saba mili’ ‘rasa’ haya camatkāra-kārī

nirveda-harṣa-ādi — complete despondency, jubilation and so on; tetriśa — thirty-three; vyabhicārī — transitory elements; saba mili’ — all meeting together; rasa — the mellow; haya — becomes; camatkāra-kārī — a cause of wonder.

“There are other ingredients, beginning with complete despondency and jubilation. Altogether there are thirty-three varieties, and when these combine, the mellow becomes very wonderful.

Nirveda, harṣa and other symptoms are explained in Madhya-līlā 14.167. The transitory elements (vyabhicārī) are described in the Bhakti-rasāmṛta-sindhu (2.4.1—3) as follows:

athocyante trayas triṁśad-bhāvā ye vyabhicāriṇaḥ
caranti sthāyinaṁ prati
vāg-aṅga-sattva-sūcyā ye
jñeyās te vyabhicāriṇaḥ

sañcārayanti bhāvasyagatiṁ sañcāriṇo’pi te
unmajjanti nimajjanti
stāyiny amṛta-vāridhau
ūrmi-vad vardhayanty enaṁ
yānti tad-rūpatāṁ ca te

“There are thirty-three transitory elements, known as vyabhicārī ecstatic emotions. They especially wander about the permanent sentiments as assistants. They are to be known by words, by different symptoms seen in the limbs and in other parts of the body, and by the peculiar conditions of the heart. Because they set in motion the progress of the permanent sentiments, they are specifically called sañcārī, or impelling principles. These impelling principles rise up and fall back in the permanent sentiments of ecstatic love like waves in an ocean of ecstasy. Consequently they are called vyabhicārī.

« Previous Next »